• Out of Stock

Songs One Through Sixteen


Release Year


The Denver Broncos UK (shortened DBUK) comprise of Munly Munly, Lord Dwight Pentacost, Rebecca Vera and Slim Cessna of Slim Cessna's Auto Club from Denver, Colorado. Opposite to the rousing sounds of SCAC, they create a sound that is clearly more subdued, ethereal and intimate with a lot of strings and percussion reminiscing of an agrarian, pre-industrial time.

As the album title implies the bands' new full length consits of no less than 16 songs (!), Gothic Americana in a class of its own. A beautifully haunting brand of stark acoustic-gloom that will inevitably send shivers down the spines of the most seasoned fans. Having worked with an array of prominent musicians in the past, including members of Devotchka, Tarantella and David Eugene Edwards of 16 Horsepower, DBUK lead-vocalist and celebrated alt-country songwriter/storyteller Jay Munly's voice is equal parts Peter Murphy and Nick Cave, and contrasts beautifully with Rebecca Vera's falsetto on a number of the tracks on "Songs One Through Sixteen". The album's strings and percussion are intoxicatingly dramatic and are provided courtesy of Auto Club members Dwight Pentacost and Slim Cessna respectively, all culminating to create one of the more evocative releases the genre has seen quite possibly in years.

Approx. weight 550 gr / Sealed / 180 gr vinyl / Includes download code

Side A
1. Broncos Fight Song
2. Jim Nabors, From Bass To Mezzo-Soprano
3. The Columbia Girl
4. Uncle John's Boat

Side B
1. Three Bloodhounds, Two Shepherds, One Fila Brasila
2. Immaculately Warded Children
3. I Hid & Seeked The Funnel
4. The Red Cross Is Giving Out Misinformation LISTEN

Side C
1. Bonnie Clyde, The Big-Bull-Hen Of The Women's Prison
2. Deerslayer
3. From The Estate Of John Denver
4. In San Francisco Bay LISTEN

Side D
1. Coca-Colonalism
2. The Misrepresentation Of The Thompson Gun
3. It's Killing Me
4. And God Bless You

From same label

(There are 6 other products in the same category)